Media Releases

Team Delle Done vs. Team Parker Rosters Announced

NEW YORK, July 19, 2018 The WNBA today revealed the team rosters for Verizon WNBA All-Star 2018, as selected by All-Star captains Elena Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics and Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks in the inaugural WNBA All-Star Draft.  The results of the draft were announced tonight on ESPN2.


Delle Donne, the 2015 WNBA Most Valuable Player, drafted Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury), Sylvia Fowles (Minnesota), Brittney Griner (Phoenix), Kayla McBride (Las Vegas Aces), Breanna Stewart (Seattle), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix), Kristi Toliver (Washington) and A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas).


Parker, a two-time WNBA MVP (2008, 2013), selected Liz Cambage (Dallas Wings), Tina Charles (New York Liberty), Skylar Diggins-Smith (Dallas), Chelsea Gray (Los Angeles), Jewell Loyd (Seattle), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota), Chiney Ogwumike (Connecticut Sun), Nneka Ogwumike (Los Angeles) and Allie Quigley (Chicago Sky).


Team Delle Donne and Team Parker will meet in the 15th WNBA All-Star Game on Saturday, July 28 at Target Center in Minneapolis.  ABC and SiriusXM NBA Radio will broadcast the game live at 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT.


The All-Star Draft was conducted today via conference call.  Delle Donne made the first pick and Parker made the second pick.  The two captains then alternated picks until all players were selected.  The captains chose their 10 teammates regardless of conference affiliation, marking the WNBA’s first All-Star Game without a matchup between the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference.


Team Delle Donne features nine players from the Western Conference and two from the Eastern Conference, with five guards and six frontcourt players.  Team Parker features seven players from the West and three from the East, with four guards and seven frontcourt players.


On Friday, July 27, the All-Star captains and head coaches will meet to determine the starting lineups.  The starters will be revealed that night on ESPN2 (9 p.m. ET) during a telecast of the WNBA All-Star Welcome Reception in Minnesota.


Seattle head coach Dan Hughes, whose team had the WNBA’s best record through games played on July 13, will lead Team Delle Donne.  Phoenix head coach Sandy Brondello, whose team had the second-best record through that date, will guide Team Parker.  Borders will select the replacement for any player unable to participate in the All-Star Game.


Led by the captain with the higher vote total, Team Delle Donne has been designated as the home team and was able to choose between wearing black or white uniforms.  Delle Donne selected the black uniforms, and Team Parker was assigned the white uniforms as the visiting team.


Below, listed in alphabetical order, are the 11-player rosters for Team Delle Donne and Team Parker in Verizon WNBA All-Star 2018.



Leave A Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.